So it’s about 6:45 now and I’ve been up and running for awhile.  Took some time out to enjoy a cup of coffee outdoors with my garden, so here are some pictures I snapped this morning.  Since the last time you saw it, the patio flagstone has been completely laid down and our firepit has also been constructed.  The tomatoes are now ripening and my other vegetables are coming along…baby eggplants, squash, and peppers have all arrived! I’ll also be posting pictures next week of my woodworking project…a maple blanket chest.  It’s just about done but needs the final touches.  I’ll be sanding it down and staining it next week.  For now, enjoy!

Love the colors...

Love the colors...

 

Success!  I've trained one of our honeysuckle plants to climb up the trellis!

Success! I've trained one of our honeysuckle plants to climb up the trellis!

 

Herb box is doing well...though that dill is flowering like crazy!

Herb box is doing well...though that dill is flowering like crazy!

 

My vegetable box is growing like crazy too...it must be all that compost.

My vegetable box is growing like crazy too...it must be all that compost.

 

Now these are some hefty organic tomatoes!!

Now these are some hefty organic tomatoes!!

 

 

The lone chili pepper...waiting to be picked.

The lone chili pepper...waiting to be picked.

 

 

Crookneck squash blossom...I pick them when the squash are baby and still attached to the blossom, stuff with goat cheese and fry them! YUM.

Crookneck squash blossom...I pick them when the squash are baby and still attached to the blossom, stuff with goat cheese and fry them! YUM.

 

 

I designed this firepit as an extension of our patio...for additional seating during entertaining and for gathering around in the fall to enjoy hot toddies and smores.

I designed this firepit as an extension of our patio...for additional seating during entertaining and for gathering around in the fall to enjoy hot toddies and smores.

 

 

My maple blanket chest..the body is made of maple plywood.  The corner posts are wormy maple hardwood.

My maple blanket chest..the body is made of maple plywood. The corner posts are wormy maple hardwood. I still can't believe I built this with my two hands...okay, and with the help of a panel saw, table saw, compound miter saw, dado saw, jointer, biscuit cutter...ya get the point. Thank goodness for technology.

 

 

Here's the solid wormy maple top to the chest...I love this wood for its highly figured character.  Had cost not been a factor, I would have made the entire chest out of wormy maple.  Next week I'm going to surface it and sand it down so that the frame is level with the center panel.  Then it'll be finished with some Danish oil.

Here's the solid wormy maple top to the chest...I love this wood for its highly figured character. Had cost not been a factor, I would have made the entire chest out of wormy maple. Next week I'm going to surface it and sand it down so that the frame is level with the center panel. Then it'll be finished with some Danish oil.

 

 

My favorite treatment for wood.  Danish oil enhances the natural beauty of its grain and I love the natural finish for a soft lustrous sheen.

My favorite treatment for wood. Danish oil enhances the natural beauty of its grain and I love the natural finish for a soft lustrous sheen.

 

 

Here's the pine door I finished this morning with some natural Danish oil.  See how it brings out the grain?

Here's the pine door I finished this morning with some natural Danish oil. See how it brings out the grain?

